VDOT News - Fredericksburg



Darragh Frye 540-899-4119


March 23, 2022

Trucks, trailers, buses and other oversize vehicles will not be permitted to park at the rest area for several weeks in April

FREDERICKSBURG, Va. – Construction work to expand truck parking at the Interstate 95 Southbound Ladysmith Safety Rest Area will require the temporary closure of the existing truck parking for several weeks in April. 

Starting 7 a.m. on Monday, April 4, trucks, trailers, buses and other oversize vehicles will not be permitted to park at the rest area, located at mile marker 108 in Caroline County. 

The I-95 Southbound Ladysmith Safety Rest Area will remain open with 55 parking spaces for passenger vehicles accessible in front of the Rest Area building.  All restrooms and other amenities will remain open to visitors. 

Construction is underway to expand the number of parking spaces for trucks and other large commercial vehicles from 20 to 45 spaces. 

Crews are closing the truck parking lot to accelerate construction activities and safely complete concrete work. 

The truck parking area will temporarily reopen for the Easter holiday weekend, April 15-18, and will close again April 19-29. 

Message boards will be posted to warn truck drivers and operators of oversize vehicles of the rest area parking closure and timeframe. 

Trucks and other commercial vehicles will not be able to access or park along the I-95 shoulder or rest area ramps during construction. 

Truck drivers are encouraged to use the most convenient alternate parking lot. A full list of VDOT’s Safety Rest Areas and Welcome Centers can be found here

Weather permitting, the truck parking lot expansion project is expected to be complete in summer 2022.


Motorists can find real-time information on lane closures, work zones, traffic and other incidents on 511Virginia.

Download the  free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit www.511Virginia.org. Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.



VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: March 23, 2022