Michelle Earl 276-696-3283


April 21, 2011

Transportation board releases draft six-year program
Includes addition of Doe Branch section of Coalfields Expressway

Includes addition of Doe Branch section of Coalfields Expressway

BRISTOL—The Commonwealth Transportation Board released yesterday a draft six-year improvement program which includes funding for projects in Governor Bob McDonnell’s historic transportation package.

The CTB will hold four public hearings to solicit public comments about essential rail, transit, transportation demand management, bicycle, pedestrian and highway projects in the Working Draft of the Fiscal Year 2012-2017 Six-Year Improvement Program (SYIP) to be approved by the CTB in June 2011.

For the Salem, Bristol, Lynchburg, and Staunton transportation districts, citizens will have an opportunity to comment on the proposed program at a public hearing on May 12 at VDOT’s Salem District Office located at 731 Harrison Ave., Salem Va. 24153.  The hearing begins at 6 p.m.

In the 12-county Bristol transportation district, the draft plan would fund the following new or accelerated projects:

  • Route 121 (Coalfield Expressway), Doe Branch – This 4.8-mile section of the expressway connects to Route 80 in the Haysi area of Dickenson County and to the Hawks Nest section of the expressway in Buchanan County, which is currently under construction through a coal synergy project with Alpha Natural Resources.
  • Interstate 81 at Exit 14 – Reconstruction of the interchange and replacement of the bridges on I-81 over Jonesborough Road in Abingdon.
  • Route 58 Abingdon to Damascus (Phase III) – Widening of Route 58 from near Route 638 (Lacy Drive) to near Route 708 (Rhea Valley Road) in Washington County. 
  • Route 83 (Lover’s Gap) – Reconstruction of a section of Route 83 located near the intersection of Route 718 in Buchanan County, connecting to the county’s Southern Gap development.
  • Route 11 (City of Bristol) – Widening of Route 11 (Lee Highway) from the newly constructed bridges over Beaver Creek to Sugar Hollow Park in Bristol. 
  • Route 640 (Russell County) – Reconstruction of a section of Route 640 (Herman Puckett Road) in Russell County.
  • Route 614 (Scott County) -   Reconstruction of a section of Route 614 (Yuma Road) in Scott County. 
  • Route 696 (Tazewell County) – Reconstruction of a section of Route 696 (Big Branch Road) in Tazewell County.
  • Route 670 (Washington County) – Replacement of the Route 670 Avens Bridge located over South Holston Lake in Washington County.
  • Route 619 (Wythe County) – Reconstruction of a section of Route 619 (St. Peters Road) in Wythe County.

Following public hearings around the state, the CTB will vote on a final program June 15 that will go into effect July 1. 

For a complete list of projects in the Draft Fiscal Year 2012-2017 Six-Year Program, visit



Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Oct. 17, 2012