VDOT Infrastructure

Welcome to VDOT

Roadway Value Basis  

Statistics and Values

Structures and Bridges

Welcome to VDOT

Virginia's transportation system is a vital element in the state's economy, providing the safe and efficient movement of people and products throughout the Old Dominion. The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) is responsible for building, maintaining and operating the state's roads, bridges and tunnels. And, through the Commonwealth Transportation Board, it also provides funding for airports, seaports, rail and public transportation.

Virginia has the third largest state-maintained highway system in the country, just behind North Carolina and Texas.

Virginia's Highway System

The 56,504-mile state-maintained system is divided into the following categories:

  • Interstate - 1,118 miles of four-to-ten lane highways that connect states and major cities.
  • Primary - 8,111 miles of two-to-six-lane roads that connect cities and towns with each other and with interstates.
  • Secondary - 48,305 miles of local connector or county roads. These generally are numbered 600 and above. Arlington and Henrico counties maintain their own county roads.
  • Frontage - 333 miles of frontage roads. A separate system includes 10,561 miles of urban streets, maintained by cities and towns with the help of state funds. Virginia's cities are independent of its counties.  Henrico County (1,279 miles) and Arlington County (359 miles) maintain their own roads with VDOT funds. There is an additional 39 miles of toll roads maintained by others. 

VDOT Organization

VDOT is one of the three largest state agencies in Virginia.

For highway purposes, Virginia is divided into nine districts: Bristol, Culpeper, Fredericksburg, Hampton Roads, Lynchburg, Northern Virginia, Richmond, Salem, and Staunton.

The districts are divided into 42 residencies and two district satellite offices, responsible for one to four counties each. Each of Virginia's counties has at least one area maintenance headquarters strategically located in it. The VDOT central office in Richmond is headquarters for approximately 30 operational and administrative units.

The Commonwealth Transportation Board guides the department's work, much like a board of directors. The transportation secretary serves as chairman and the Commonwealth Transportation Commissioner as vice-chairman.

The 17 Board members are appointed by the governor and approved by the General Assembly. The director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation also serves as a non-voting member of the board. Board meetings are held monthly and are open to the public.


The Infrastructure depicted in this section represents assets which VDOT will capitalize. For assets which VDOT will not capitalize (refer to section titled Methodologies for additional explanation) are shown in the sections titled Municipality Infrastructure Adobe Reader and Arlington and Henrico Infrastructure Adobe Reader.


Page last modified: Jan. 23, 2016